A Second Version

I have heard from many of my friends while student teaching that student teaching basically turns you into a second version of your mentor teacher. I definitely saw that in myself but the extent of if showed up today. I finished decorating my room and getting it ready as can be for Monday. When I stepped back to look around before I left, I thought to myself, “well doesn’t this look familiar…” Obviously, things are different between my room and mentor teacher’s room because my kids are older but it is funny how the small things are so similar. I mean, there were things I copied and modified from her but stepping back and seeing it all finished; there was much more of her influence than I had previously realized!

This isn’t a bad thing, of course. She was fantastic and taking pages from her book are definitely going to help me more than I know. Now it’s time for me to step up and be the teacher she helped me become. I am ready! Bring on the fourth graders! 

Leave a Reply

