Day 3 

Things are looking up a little. Yesterday, I hit the wall. I managed to make myself sick because I was so worried about planning and actually having to teach fourth grade. I don’t think the tears actually stopped from the moment I got in my car until I fell asleep. I was dreading today. I felt horrible and honestly thought I might throw up. 

But things got a little better today. We have specials pretty early in the morning and in the way out the P.E. Teacher looked at me and said, “you’ve got a pretty tough group, don’t you?” It made me feel immensely better that I was not the only one who thought this and that I was not just failing while no one else had a problem. 

Everyone is bein so nice to me. Helping me out. I am glad for it. Friday, I am going to observe in my intermediate school mentor teacher’s class during my lunch. I think it might help me get a better idea of what’s going on in other rooms.

Today I moved two clips and had one doing an assignment at recess. Yesterday, six clips were moved and one moved back up. Tomorrow I have quite a few who will be working at recess because they chose to talk instead of get their work done. 

We will see how everything shakes out next week. After a full week of teaching, I’ll probably have a better idea of what I am doing. Even if I only get the time it takes for students to do work down, I will be further than I am now. 

Leave a Reply

