As Luck Would Have It

As luck would have it, our school was in lockdown today because of events going on in our town. I shut my classroom door and we carried on with what we were doing. When the announcement was made that dismissal would be a little different and late, I just carried on reading. One of my students asked what was going on and I just said the busses would be late and things were a little different today. They all calmly nodded. I kept on reading. 

I don’t even think my class noticed we got out ten minutes late. No one freaked out, no one cried, they all just listened to the story. I feel pretty lucky because sometimes if I sneeze in the middle of a lesson the class falls apart. 

Either we are finally figuring out how to be humans with some sort of self control or the book I am reading is really, really good. It’s been two days of relatively good behavior. I think they all got their horrendous-ness out the past two weeks. I hope it keeps up. It’s been really great. 

I feel lucky that on a rough day like today with a sticky situation like a lockdown, my kids stepped up and did a really good job! 

2 thoughts on “As Luck Would Have It

  1. Blake Ketterer January 25, 2017 / 11:15 pm

    I usually find that a good book can quell anything!
    Or your just helping them be better little people either way your making some good choices.

    Like

    • Haley Jane January 26, 2017 / 12:58 am

      I am currently reading Hole by Louis Sachar. We have read The Witches also. I love children’s lit because it is the one thing that brings different types of people together. I have one student who hates everything I do and makes rude comments about everything I say but he and I have the same favorite books. It’s the only thing he listens to me say. I love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

